Gluten Free Info

Survey Says 54% of Americans Still Don’t Know What Gluten Is

Do you know what gluten is? The trend nowadays is to follow a gluten-free diet, but do you actually know which foods contain gluten, and must be avoided for those with celiac disease or gluten intolerance?

If you do not really know what gluten is, you’re not alone. Many people assume that gluten is is just avoiding wheat-based products.

This survey was only conducted in the USA, but I know from experience, that gluten (and gluten-free) is widely misunderstood.

For more information, click on the link below to go to the article:

Survey Says 54% of Americans Still Don’t Know What Gluten Is – Gluten-Free Living.

5 thoughts on “Survey Says 54% of Americans Still Don’t Know What Gluten Is

  1. I am not surprised about the figure. I have gotten some odd actions when I commented I need to eat no gluten.
    Some years agoI was in a hospital where the dietary staff did not no the difference between glucose and gluten. Aneother I answer a question I couldn’t eat wheat. My answer was ” I didn’t know wheat was in flour.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. A hospital didn’t know the difference?! Shocking! Just as well that us, who have the disease, are more educated! Oh yes, I’m still surprised that many people do not know that flour is made from wheat, rye, or barley.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I once saw people being interviewed about their eating habits. Some were passionate taking about being gluten free. Then the reporter asked them to say what’s gluten. Nobody knew!
    There are many people like that who don’t have intolerance but follow a trend. Do you come across people like that?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can quite easily believe that! haha! When I was first diagnosed, I had no idea what gluten even was. One would think that nowadays, with all the media attention, people would be more aware, but I suppose if it doesn’t affect your health, then why would you know? Yes, I have met people like that. It is a trend to ‘go gluten free’, and some people will follow a five day no gluten rule, then binge on all things gluten over the weekend.

      Like

      1. Exactly because it’s a trend, those who follow it should at least know what it is! I find it bizarre! And what you described is so funny. What’s the point of doing it during the week but not the weekend? People are not understandable sometimes!

        Liked by 1 person

Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

