Cakes · Dessert · Good Food · Sweet Treats · TeaTime - EclecticOddss&Sods

Matcha Gluten-free Cheesecake

One of my blog readers, Pixie, suggested that I make a gluten-free green tea cheesecake to enjoy with a special green tea which was a gift from a very good friend of mine. I’ve made quick and very easy mini cheesecakes before, in glasses, as a single serving, which I usually top with either a berry jam, or fresh fruit.  I’ve actually never tried adding green tea (or any other tea, for that matter), to a cheesecake. I thought long and hard about this one! Do I just add Matcha powder to the mixtures that I would normally use, and hope for the best? Or, do I experiment with a completely new recipe.  Since I am my own guinea-pig, I went for it!

Matcha Gluten-free Cheesecake

(gluten-free, egg free, soy free, nut free, oat free, peanut free, sesame free)

2cheesecakes

Servings: 2

By: gfchopstix

Prep time: 15 minutes

setting time: 2 hours – overnight

cropped-tea_blossoms.jpg

ingredients:

  • 135g of plain yoghurt
  • 40g of honey
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla essence
  • A pinch of sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon of lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon of matcha powder
  • 2 teaspoons of Cassava starch *
  • 2 cookies (ready made), crumbled

ingredients

*I used Cassava starch to thicken the mixture.  Since this particular starch is new to me, I wasn’t sure whether it could be used in an unbaked cheesecake.  I’ve recently used the starch to bake cookies, and thicken other goodies in the gfchopstix kitchen, but when I tried researching as to whether it could be used ‘raw’ (like corn starch), I wasn’t able to find much information.  So… I took a chance.  It did help to set the cheesecake, and didn’t have any weird after-taste, but if you are not sure that you want to use it, sub it for gelatin, or if you are vegan, then try something like guar gum or flaxmeal. Let me know how it turns out.

instructions:

  1. In a small-medium sized bowl, place the yoghurt, lemon juice, vanilla essence, sea salt, honey
  2. Stir
  3. Whisk in the matcha powder
  4. In small ramekins (or tiny cake tins as I used), tightly press the crumbled cookies into the bottom
  5. Pour the yoghurt mixture into the tins
  6. Place in a freezer for two hours, or overnight **
  7. Remove from freezer, let rest for a few minutes, to make it easier to release the cheesecake from the tin
  8. Place onto a serving plate, decorate as you wish, grab a spoon and enjoy!

** I originally placed the cheesecakes into the refrigerator, but after a couple of hours, they were not setting, and so, I placed them into the freezer, and checked on them about an hour later, and they were almost completely set.

Use any of your favourite baked cookies to form a base for the cheesecake.  I used choc-chip cookies for this recipe.

Use any of your favourite baked cookies to form a base for the cheesecake. I used choc-chip cookies for this recipe.

Place the yoghurt into a bowl, and then add the honey.

Place the yoghurt into a bowl, and then add the honey.

3
Next, add the lemon juice, and vanilla essence
Add the honey, salt and cassava flour and stir.
Add the salt and cassava flour and stir.

Whisk in the Matcha powder, until combined.

Whisk (or vigorously stir)  in the Matcha powder, until combined.

Carefully fill the ramekins, or mini cake tins, to the brim.

Carefully fill the ramekins, or mini cake tins, to the brim.

Join Justine, our host, and her other guests over at Tea Time #9 – there is Champagne on offer!

http://eclecticoddsnsods.com/2015/04/14/tea-time-9-gluten-low-fodmap-chocolate-banana-blueberry-muffins/

Serve the Matcha cheesecake with a hot cup of green tea, or your  favourite beverage.
Serve the Matcha cheesecake with a hot cup of green tea, or other favourite beverage.
8 thoughts on “Matcha Gluten-free Cheesecake

  1. wow thank you for joining in and you quite obviously put so much effort in to not only cooking/making this but also your post with all the graphics and text I am super impressed. What did it taste like in the end? I am very intrigued with t his and think your brave to experiment so much, much braver than me lol 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Justine 😀 I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe experiment. Nice when fellow bloggers make suggestions, and I get to play in my kitchen! haha! It was good. I must admit, I ate it right after taking the photos, so it was still ‘ice-cream’ like, which I loved! hehehe

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I must say, I’m not a huge fan of green tea flavoured sweets. It’s only recently that I’ve started to add the Matcha powder to my kitchen, so I was a little hesitant. It was actually quite good. The sweetness of the biscuit base, and the sour-bitterness of the cheesecake balance out nicely. Have you ever tried green tea desserts before?

      Like

Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

