Good Food · Muffins · What's Baking in My Oven?

What’s Baking in My Oven? You’re about to find out!

 I didn’t grow up eating cranberries. That’s right. We didn’t have cranberry sauce, or fresh cranberries to pick, or even dried cranberries to snack on. I know, so deprived! The first time I actually ate dried cranberries was this past year. I guess that I’m a late starter ;p

Anyway, I think that I quite like them.  I’ve added them to cookies that I baked over Christmas, and today, I’ve also added them to another recipe.

Recently I saw a lovely recipe on another blog that I fancied, that uses fresh cranberries, but alas, they are not available in my neck of the woods, so I’ll have to make do with the imported dried red berries.

This month, for ‘What’s baking in my oven?’ I used my cornbread recipe as a basis for a new muffin recipe.

My cornbread recipe can be found here:

https://gfchopstix.wordpress.com/2014/11/13/cornbread-warm-moist-and-light/

Here is the new recipe:

Cranberry Cornbread Muffins (gluten free, egg free, dairy free, nut free, oat free, soy free)

Servings: 12 muffins

By: gfchopstix

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cooking time: 20-25 minutes

oven temperature: 180C/355F

corncranberrymuffins

Ingredients:
  • 1 1/2 cups of yellow cornmeal
  • 1/2 cup of tapioca starch
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 2 Tablespoons of honey
  • 3 Tablespoons of sunflower oil
  • 1 cup of non dairy milk
  • 1 teaspoon of vinegar
  • 1/4 cup of sugar free applesauce
  • 1/4 cup of chopped dried cranberries
1- Ingredients 2 - Place flours into bowl 3 - Add the oil and applesauce 4 - Gradually stir in the milk 5- Mix 6 - After mixing well, the batter will look like this 7 -  Stir in the cranberries 8 - Spoon into a muffin tray
1- Ingredients
2 – Place flours into bowl
3 – Add the oil and applesauce
4 – Gradually stir in the milk
5- Mix
6 – After mixing well, the batter will look like this
7 – Stir in the cranberries
8 – Spoon into a muffin tray
Instructions:
  1. Preheat an oven to 180C/355F
  2. Measure the milk in a jug and add the teaspoon of vinegar, to curdle the milk
  3. In a medium sized mixing bowl, measure out the flour
  4. Add the baking soda, baking powder and salt
  5. Add the applesauce and oil to the flour mixture and stir
  6. Add the honey (mine was solid due to the cold weather – if  yours is runny, then you can just pour it directly into the mixing bowl), to the milk in the jug and stir
  7. Next, add the milk and mix until well combined
  8. Stir in the cranberries
  9. Spoon into a muffin tray
  10. Bake, in a preheated oven, 180C/355F, for 20-25 minutes
  11. Remove from oven, cool for five minutes in the muffin tray, then remove and place on a wire rack to cool completely
  12. If, like me, you just cannot wait for them to cool down, scarf two one down as soon as you’ve removed the tray from the oven

Serve plain, or with honey, jam, butter or other favourite spread

Note: As with the cornbread, these are best eaten on the same day. They are not very sweet, so if you really like sweetness, then add more sugar. Also, they will not rise much.

baked

4 thoughts on “What’s Baking in My Oven? You’re about to find out!

Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

