12 Days of Christmas · Cakes · Christmas · Good Food · Sweet Treats

Twelve Days of Christmas – Day 7

How often do you use a microwave for cooking? Do you rely on it daily to cook meals, especially frozen meals? Or is it only used to heat up your coffee on a cold morning, or leftovers for lunch the next day?

I used to rely on my microwave oven a lot, and couldn’t ever imagine living without one!  This recipe relies on a microwave, and to be honest, I’ve never tried it in a conventional oven.  So, if you do not have a microwave, try it out and let me know how it goes.

If you’re looking for a ‘quick fix’ of cake, and chocolate, in a hurry, then look no further…

Decadent Chocolate Mugcake (gluten free, egg free, nut free, soy free,dairy free)

Chocolate Mugcake
Chocolate Mugcake

Ingredients:

  • 4 Tablespoons of gluten free flour (any blend that you prefer)
  •  2 Tablespoons of coconut oil (or sunflower oil)
  • 1/2 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 3 Tablespoons of choc chips or chocolate pieces broken up
  • 1 flax egg
  • 4 Tablespoons of non dairy milk
  • 1 Tablespoon of cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence (or other)
  • 1/2 Tablespoon of dark brown sugar
1 - Ingredients 2 - Melt the chocolate and oil 3 - Mix well 4 - Add the dry ingredients 5 - Add remainder of ingredients and mix 6 - Pour into a mug
1 – Ingredients
2 – Melt the chocolate and oil
3 – Mix well
4 – Add the dry ingredients
5 – Add remainder of ingredients and mix
6 – Pour into a mug

Directions:

  1.  In a microwavable bowl, place the chocolate pieces (or chips) and oil
  2. Microwave on 60% for about a minute to melt the chocolate
  3. Remove from the microwave and stir
  4. Mix the flour, baking powder, cocoa and sugar together in a medium sized bowl
  5. Add the flour mix to the melted chocolate and stir
  6. Mix in the milk and vanilla essence
  7. Add the flax egg last
  8. Pour into a microwavable mug
  9. Cook on 100%  power for 2 – 3 minutes
  10. Remove from microwave and top with sprinkles, or cream and serve

Note: microwave ovens will vary

9 thoughts on “Twelve Days of Christmas – Day 7

  1. This sounds decadent and delicious. I must try it – thanks!

    That said, I don’t really use the microwave for all that much aside from heating things up. I do like to cook and haven’t touched a frozen meal in aaaages, uncless we’re counting Amy’s Frozen Meals, which are a little piece of heaven in themselves.

    Like

  2. Trying to find a way to share this on my blog so people can see your recipe but its not showing more than a link. I love this and I can’t wait to try it! Thank you!

    Like

    1. Hi Cassie Kelly, thank you so much for sharing my recipe! I’m not sure how to change that? I thought that I had share buttons as part of my theme – I’ll go check! I hope that you are you’ll enjoy the mugcake 🙂

      Like

Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

