Blogging101 · Good Food

What’s baking in my oven today?

As Blogging101 is drawing to a close, I’m hoping that my faithful followers will continue to check my site after the challenge ends. Perhaps I will not be able to post on a daily basis – creating delicious gluten free, egg free recipes does take time, you know?! However, I will be posting more free recipes for you to try, and hopefully I’ll have more followers too 😀

I wanted to add something more to my site, to make it more interesting entertaining for both you and myself, and have decided on a special feature: ‘What’s baking in my oven today?‘ / ‘What’s cooking in my kitchen today?’ (depending on the recipe).

I’m still not sure as to how often I will be posting this segment, but the first one will be in December 2014.

I’m looking forward to it! Hope that you are too!

Look out for it!

Oh, and I suppose that you would like to know what that warm, moist, and delicious looking cake baking in my oven on 14 November 2014 was?

The mystery has been solved! Here is the recipe.  Enjoy!

Pineapple ‘Not So Upside Down’ Cake (gluten free, egg free, nut free, dairy free, soy free, oat free, no xanthan gum)

mystery_softfocus
Remember this photo?

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of gluten free flour (I used a combination of brown rice flour, cornstarch and potato starch)
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence
  • 2 flax eggs
  • 3/4 cup of non dairy milk
  • 1/4 cup of dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 a fresh pineapple, cut up into chunks
  • 1/4 cup of sunflower oil
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of salt
  • 1/2 a teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder

For the ‘topping’:

  • 1/2 a Tablespoon of dark brown sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon of oil
1: Ingredients 2: Mix the oil and sugar 3: Add dry ingredients 4: Place topping in cake pan 5: Place pineapple in pan and pour batter over 6: Baked!
1: Ingredients
2: Mix the oil and sugar
3: Add milk to dry ingredients
4: Place topping in cake pan
5: Arrange pineapple in pan and pour batter over
6: Baked!

Directions:

  1.  Preheat an oven to 180C/355F
  2. In a medium sized bowl, cream (or whisk) the sugar, vanilla essence and oil
  3. Gradually add the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt
  4. Add to the oil mixture, mixing well
  5. Now add the milk, gradually, until a thick batter is formed
  6. Finally stir in the flax eggs
  7. For the topping – line an 8″ round cake pan
  8. Sprinkle the 1/2 Tablespoon of sugar over, then spoon the oil over that
  9. Arrange the pineapple chunks onto the oil and sugar mixture
  10. Now pour the batter over
  11. Bake in a preheated oven, at 180C/355F,  for 30 – 35 minutes (mine was ready after 32 minutes)
  12. A toothpick will not come out completely clean, so to determine if it is ready, the cake will shrink away from the sides of the pan and be a light to darkish brown colour
  13. Wait for the cake to cook slightly, then turn over onto a wire cooling rack to cool completely
  14. Serve as is, or with cream or ice cream
  15. Enjoy!

Note: After cooling, I turned the cake over and then sprinkled icing sugar over it. Hence the name – Pineapple Not So Upside Down Cake!

Pineapple Not So Upside Down Cake
Pineapple Not So Upside Down Cake
2 thoughts on “What’s baking in my oven today?

Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

