Breakfast · Good Food

Cornbread – warm, moist and light

I’m not a huge fan of cornbread, since it tends to be rather dry and often tasteless. I do bake it from time to time, and usually around this time of year. This is the first time that I’ve attempted it without eggs, (which make it light and fluffy), and I really enjoyed it.

I’m curious – how do you like to eat your cornbread? With honey, or syrup? With a thick spreading of butter? With a hearty winter soup? Let me know in the comments below.

Cornbread (Gluten free, egg free, soy free, dairy free, nut free, oat free)

cornbreadcut

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups of fine cornmeal
  • 1 teaspoon of sea salt
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 2 Tablespoons of honey or syrup
  • 3 Tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 cup of non dairy milk
  • 1 Tablespoon of apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup of applesauce (I used home made)

Optional add-ins: tinned corn, sweet bell peppers or cheese

Ingredients

Ingredients

 

 

 

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 190C/375F
  2. Mix the milk and vinegar together and let stand until it curdles
  3.  In a medium sized bowl, mix the honey, applesauce and oil
  4. In another bowl, combine the cornmeal, baking powder, baking soda and salt
  5. Gradually add the milk mixture to the dry ingredients, and mix well
  6. Add the remainder of the ingredients and blend until well combined
  7. Add in your optionals here
  8. Spoon into a greased ovenproof dish (I used a small roasting pan)
  9. Bake in a preheated oven, at 190C/375F for 20-25 minutes, until the sides start to move away from the edges, and the bread is lightly browned
  10. Remove, cool slightly, then cut up and enjoy any way you like!

cornbread collage

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Notes: This cornbread is best eaten on the same day, when it is still moist and warm. You can store it in the refrigerator and then heat up, but it will dry out quickly.

wmcornbread

 

 

Do you like cornbread? What do you usually eat it with? Or do you just grab a piece and stick it in your mouth as it comes fresh out of the oven? Leave a comment…

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Cornbread – warm, moist and light

  1. Your recipe looks really interesting and I wanted to email it to a friend who can’t eat gluten, but the email failed. I may have messed it up (I am pretty tech challenged.) I’ll send them a link instead, but just thought I should let you know in case there’s a problem with your email button.

    Like

    1. Hi Bor Bor,
      That’s so kind of you to share one of my recipes. I really hope that your friend likes it. I checked my settings – not really knowing what to do, but I think that emailing should work now. Please try again.

      Like

Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

