Good Food

Introduce Yourself

My first Blogging 101 Assignment – Introduce Yourself.

Well, that’s a tough one. I do have an ‘About’ page, which I thought was sufficient. Obviously not.

When I finally took the big step to start a blog, rather than just thinking about it, my purpose was to put on ‘paper’ what ‘s been inside my head for years. Scary, isn’t it?!

Living with allergies/intolerances/chronic disease, is not something that any of us chooses. I definitely wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy.  However, having said that, I’m not all that unique. There are so many other people out there who suffer allergies, or live with food intolerances, or have chronic illnesses that force them to change their diets. There are of course severe allergies – take peanut allergies (thankfully, I’m not one of them), that is a life threatening allergy, and constantly has to be monitored and treated.

I’m not saying that living gluten free is any easier, well, it is actually, considering that I can go in to any restaurant and not worry about them serving peanuts.  But, that’s not the point. It isn’t a competition to see who has the most allergies, or the deadliest.  Living with allergies is not fun. Period.

I want to share my experiences, my recipes, my thoughts, my ideas, my advice, my knowledge on living a healthy, tasty and good life, without gluten.  It certainly isn’t easy. It’s a daily challenge. It can be frustrating. It can feel lonely. It can be daunting. It can also be a lot of fun. It can also be very rewarding.

Eating gluten free, egg free meals need not be boring or bland. You do not need to spend loads of hard earned money at the supermarket or healthy stores, stocking up on all the ‘gluten free’ branded products.  Of course, if you want to, there is nothing wrong with that. If you have a little time, and are willing to put in some effort, you can create wonderful food in your own kitchen, with fresh, healthy and varied ingredients. You do not have to eat out of a can, or from a box. Fresh, home made food is far healthier, and you know what you’ve put into it, so you have control over your allergens.

I’d love to connect with others who are living healthy lives, have healthy attitudes and share our views, our recipes, and our inspiration.

I also have a love for nature, pretty things, funny things, friends, family, good books, photography (hence the sign-up for Photography 101), and good food, of course!

2 thoughts on “Introduce Yourself

Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

