Good Food · Sweet Treats

October – Recipe 5: Gluten Free Pumpkin Bread

That’s right, another pumpkin recipe!  This being the last week of October, is also the last of my ‘popular bloggers’ recipes, with my adaptations. Pumpkin has been a main attraction this month, and my last recipe is no exception.


I’ve never baked with pumpkin before.  Really. Never.  I have of course, eaten it as a vegetable dish, or with other savoury foods, but I’ve never actually used it as an ingredient in a baked dish.

I wasn’t really sure how to go about incorporating this versatile vegetable into a recipe, and then I happened to see that, Shirley, from glutenfreeeasily.com, had a great list of pumpkin recipes on her site.

Of course, I chose the winner, and most popular recipe of them all – Vegan Pumpkin Bread by Alisa.
This is Alisa’s winning recipe:
Alisa’s recipe calls for canned pumpkin. Pumpkin in a can? I had never heard of it until now. Although I wasn’t surprised, since nowadays, so many foods do come in a can!
I however, decided to use fresh pumpkins, since I wouldn’t even know where to begin looking for canned pumpkin.  Since it is pumpkin season, it was perfect timing.
I also wasn’t sure how to go about making pumpkin puree, so I read up about it. Ah, the wonders of the internet!
With two recipes in hand, I was ready to go.  First, I roasted a butternut.  Then, I baked the bread.
My adapted pumpkin bread recipe follows.

Pretty Pumpkin Bread

(Gluten free, Egg free, Nut free, Soy free, Dairy free, Oat free)

wm_pumpkinbreadslice
Ingredients:
  • 1 1/3 cups of white rice flour
  • 1/2 cup of potato starch
  • 1/4 cup of tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup of coconut flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 2 Tablespoons of dark brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon of 5 Spice (I didn’t have pie spice)
  • 1/4 teaspoon of powdered ginger
  • 1/2 cup of milk (non dairy)
  • 1/4 cup of sunflower oil
  • 1/2 cup of fresh apple juice
  • 1/4 cup of water (see note below)
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence
  • 1 3/4 cups of pumpkin puree
Ingredients
Ingredients
Directions:
Oven temperature: 180C/355F
Baking time: 45-55 minutes
  1. Preheat oven to 180C/355F
  2. Mix the flours together in a large mixing bowl or jug
  3. Add the spices, salt, sugar, baking powder and baking soda
  4. Place all the dry ingredients into a large bowl
  5. Next, add the oil, water, vanilla and juice and combine thoroughly
  6. Mix in the pumpkin puree
  7. Spoon into a large loaf pan (9×5 inch)
  8. Bake in a preheated oven, 180C/355F, for 45 – 55 minutes
  9. Cool for ten minutes in the oven
  10. Remove and place on a wire rack to cool
Step 1 - place flours into a mixing bowl
Step 1 – place flours into a mixing bowl
Step 2 - Add milk, juice and water
Step 2 – Add milk, juice and water
Step 3 - Add pumpkin puree and mix in
Step 3 – Add pumpkin puree and mix in
Step 5 - Mix until a smooth batter forms. Spoon into a loaf tin
Step 5 – Mix until a smooth batter forms. Spoon into a loaf tin
wmpumpkinbread
It was really moist on the inside, and crisp on the outside, after cooling for a while, and then great toasted the following day!
Notes:
  • I added an additional 1/4 cup of water because coconut flour tends to hungrily soak up any liquid.
  • I baked the bread for 45 minutes, until the top browned. It could probably have done with an extra five minutes.
  • I did enjoy this sweet bread, although I thought it contained perhaps too much pumpkin for my liking.  Being new to pumpkin bread, I was expecting it to be more like my banana bread which I love, but this was very moist and quite gummy.
  • In case you’re confused with my intro on this post, I baked this bread just before I baked the Halloween pumpkin cupcakes, but since it is week five of my October recipes, it slots in here.
3 thoughts on “October – Recipe 5: Gluten Free Pumpkin Bread

  1. Would you have any recipes to gluten free breakfast bread? (I know you don’t use eggs either, but this one doesn’t have to be egg-free). My brother is visiting soon and he doesn’t eat gluten. The gluten-free bread in the stores is just awful so we’d like to try and bake at home instead.

    Like

Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

