Cakes, Sweet Breads & Cupcakes · Good Food · Halloween

Pumpkin Cupcakes with yoghurt frosting (Gluten free, Nut free, Soy free, Oats free)

Halloween recipes.  With Halloween right around the corner, I made three delicious treats. This is one of three recipes. I know that you’ll love these pumpkin cupcakes.
After roasting a pumpkin, and then making a few recipes with the pulp, I still had some left in the freezer.  What better way to use up the last of the pumpkin, than to make Karina’s (glutenfreegoddess) ‘Pumpkin cupcakes with maple cream’
Her recipe can be found here:
Baking with pumpkin is new to me, and I wasn’t sure whether I liked the flavour or texture of the pumpkin puree.  It is starting to grow on me, I must say, and perhaps I will be adventurous enough to try out more recipes.  These cupcakes, are really delicious though, and I’m so glad that I attempted to make them.
I knew just how to decorate these delicious pumpkin cupcakes – with handmade pumpkins, of course!

 
Pumpkin Patch Cupcakes (Gluten free, Egg free, Nut free, Soy free, Oat free)
wmthepumpkinpatch
Ingredients:
  • 1 cup of sorghum flour
  • 3/4 cup of tapioca starch
  • 1/4 cup of almond meal
  • 4 Tablespoons of dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon of xanthan gum
  • 1/3 cup of coconut oil
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon of ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup (250ml) of pumpkin puree (it’s all I had left, less than Karina’s recipe called for)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla essence
  • Egg replacer
  • 1/4 cup of non dairy milk
 ingredientspumpkincc
Directions:
  1. In a medium sized bowl, mix the flours, xanthan gum, salt, ginger, cinnamon, sugar, baking soda and baking powder together
  2. Cut in the coconut oil
  3. Add the pumpkin puree, vanilla essence and milk
  4. Add the egg replacer and gently stir in until combined
  5. Spoon into an oiled muffin tin
  6. Bake in a preheated oven, 180C/355F, for 25 minutes
  7. Remove from oven and cool on a wire rack
  8. Once completely cool, frost them, or if like me, you just couldn’t wait, gobble one up (when no one is looking), and then frost the rest.
Step 1&2 - Mix the flours, then cut in the coconut oil
Step 1&2 – Mix the flours, then cut in the coconut oil
Step 3 - Add the pumpkin puree
Step 3 – Add the pumpkin puree
Step 4 - Using elbow grease, thoroughly mix until a batter forms
Step 4 – Using elbow grease, thoroughly mix until a batter forms
Step 5 - Stir in the egg replacer
Step 5 – Stir in the egg replacer

 

baked pumpkincc

Note: I used less sugar and oil in this recipe than in the original recipe, by choice.  I also used my own yoghurt frosting recipe to frost the cupcakes.

wmpumpkincc_cut

These cupcakes were delicious plain (I had to try one fresh out the oven!)  For my Halloween theme though, I wanted to dress them up.

PS: If you’re wondering what the dark spots on the cupcakes are, that’s from the dark brown sugar. As hard as I try to blend them in, they still appear to pop through the final product.  They don’t bother me though. It adds to the rustic look that I like.

Here they are with plain yoghurt frosting.

wmpumpkincupcakes_frosting

 

These are my Pumpkin Patch Pumpkin Cupcakes, all dressed up

wm2pumpkinccslidingdownhill

Of course, I had to find a rhyme to go with these

Five little pumpkins sitting on a gate
The first one said ‘Oh my! It’s getting late.’
The second one said ‘There are witches in the air.’
The third one said ‘But we don’t care.’
The fourth one said ‘Let’s run! Let’s run!’
The fifth one said ‘Isn’t Halloween fun?’
Then woooo went the wind.
And out went the lights.
And five little pumpkins went rolling out of sight.
(Taken from DLTK)

 

wm4pumpkins

Looking very smug!

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Pumpkin Cupcakes with yoghurt frosting (Gluten free, Nut free, Soy free, Oats free)

  1. The little pumpkin characters are adorable, and I really like the poem. Though you might want to take that last with a grain of salt (preferably non-iodized sea salt) since I have been told more than once not to try my hand at poetry–for good reason.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Bor Bor Igmus. I had such fun making my crude little pumpkins. Glad that you like them! The poem is from another site, so I cannot take credit for it. Just as well, because my poetry is probably best left in my head rather than out there for all to see!

      Like

Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

