Good Food · Sweet Treats

Persimmon Mousse (A fruity blend of autumn flavours)

What can I say about this recipe? I have quite a few over-ripe persimmons that need eating. Other than making muffins, or sweet breads, I wasn’t sure how else to use them. Then I had an idea, well two, actually.  This is one of them.  The other will be posted soon.

Don’t let the colour put you off.  No, it is not a bright, shiny orange. Or a pale, pastel colour. Rather, since it is autumn, this mousse is a rich rusty colour, and topped with grated dark chocolate, it finishes it off perfectly.

Okay, so this recipe didn’t quite turn out as I had planned.  I got all my ingredients together, and then remembered that my blender is broken. Like in bust. Kaput.

Sad, but true.

So, I had to make another plan, quickly. I winged it, and although this mousse is really good, I would strongly suggest that you use a blender to make it.

Persimmon Mousse (Gluten free, Egg free)

wmpersimmon mousse

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup of ripe persimmons (peeled and cut up)
  • 1 teaspoon of dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla essence (or you could use other)
  • 3 small black-ripe bananas (about 150ml) Use one if you don’t want a strong nana taste
  • Cream or yoghurt for topping

ingredients persimmon mousse

Directions:

  1. Wash, peel and chop up persimmons (or if yours are over ripe like mine were, they will already be mushy)
  2. Peel bananas and cut up
  3. Place into a medium sized bowl
  4. Use a whisk (blender!) to mix
  5. Pour in vanilla essence and sugar and continue to mix until smooth
  6. Place in a refrigerator for about an hour
  7. Remove, pour over yoghurt or cream and decorate (I used plain yoghurt)
Step 1 - I attempted to whisk
Step 1 – I attempted to whisk

Note: I have a confession to make.  I wasn’t getting the desired texture with a whisk, so I got out my hand mixer, and whizzed it on high for about two minutes, until the fruit was a nice smooth, thick texture. This still didn’t work as well as I know a blender would, since the persimmon will still be a little chunky.  If you like it that way, great. I personally didn’t.

Step 2 - handmixer
Step 2 – handmixer
Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

