Breakfast · Good Food · Sweet Treats

October Recipes – Buckwheat Pancakes (Gluten free, Egg free, Dairy free, Nut free)

October recipe No.2

Just in time for Saturday morning pancakes!

What’s in a name? You may call them pancakes, or Scotch pancakes, but I just call them flapjacks.

As a child, I loved granny C’s flapjacks, which were served with jam and cream, and of course, loads of butter. Since living gluten free, I’ve attempted various flapjack recipes over the years, and they were pretty good, until I had to exclude eggs!  Now, they either spread too much, and I make waffles (I’m not complaining), or they end up oily and yuck. 

Until now, that is! Having to cook without eggs is more challenging than I’d thought, because if a delicious looking recipe is gluten free, it usually contains at least two eggs, sometimes six or even eight! Now, I can sub one egg by using a flax egg or egg replacer, but 6 eggs?!?! Really, it just doesn’t work.

So, I went looking for a vegan, gluten free pancake recipe, and that is when I found Fork & Beans.  Catchy, isn’t it? Cara’s site is going to become a wonderful resource for me! Yay! She cooks and bakes egg free and gluten free amazing looking creations.  And if the pancakes/flapjacks I made are anything to go by, I’m hooked.

I love her site.  She is witty, funny and best of all, she has wonderful recipes! Thanks Cara, you are my new best blogger friend! (whether you like it or not :p)

Check out Cara’s recipe here:

http://www.forkandbeans.com/2011/08/25/vegan-buckwheat-pancakes/

Of course, my flapjacks (pancakes) look nothing like Cara’s, but they turned out great.  I made substitutions, as I usually do, and added my favourite flour of the moment – black rice.

Vegan Buckwheat Pancakes (Flapjacks) – Gluten free, Egg free, Nut free, Dairy free

flapjack breakfast

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup of sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup of tapioca starch
  • 1/2 cup of buckwheat flour
  • 3 Tablespoons of black rice flour
  • 1 1/2 cups of milk
  • 3 teaspoons of dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon of xanthan gum
  • 1 Tablespoon of sunflower oil

ingredients2

Directions:

  1. Place all ingredients into a blender and mix
  2. Pour into a hot oiled pan and cook until done

step4blender

Note: This is the first time I’ve ever tried a recipe in a blender, and it was so quick and easy! Only problem though, is that I wasn’t able to get all of the batter out like I would usually do in a bowl, so next time (and there will be!) I’ll try it in a bowl, the manual way.

flapjackssuccess

I think that granny C would have been proud of me.

2 thoughts on “October Recipes – Buckwheat Pancakes (Gluten free, Egg free, Dairy free, Nut free)

Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

