Breakfast · Good Food · Muffins · Pasta & Pizza · Vegetables

New kid on the (gluten free) blog

I’ve finally done it!
I’ve officially joined the world of blogging.
I am the newest gluten free kid on the blog! 😛
I’ve been wanting to post my ideas, recipes, trials and tribulations (hence the title), for quite some time now, and was pondering about where to do it, and in what format. Should I start a blog? Should I use social media? Should I have my own website? After some much online searching and discussion, I decided that a blog on WordPress would be a good place to start.
Since this is my very first post, I will do as others have done, and post a recipe!  This seems to be the done thing?!
I love muffins. Who doesn’t? I enjoy adding all sorts of weird and wonderful ingredients to a basic recipe, and then seeing how they come out.  Some are eaten gobbled up almost immediately after being removed from the oven, and others are eaten slower, because they weren’t perhaps as successful (awful) as others.  Anyway, I have a muffin recipe to share.
With the cooler weather starting to set in now that it is autumn, I felt like something savoury, but colourful. I’m not  a huge fan of raw tomatoes, but put them into a stew, or a curry, or muffin, and they add colour and flavour to a plain dish.
TBC muffins (Gluten free, Egg free, Dairy free, Sugar free, Oat free)
Not to be confused with ‘to be continued’, these T (tomato), B (basil), C (cheese) muffins are wonderful (even if I say so myself).
tbcmuffinswatermark
Makes: 12 muffins
Oven temp: 190C/375F
Baking time: 20-25 minutes
INGREDIENTS:
  • 1 1/2 cups gluten free flour *
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of chili flakes (or spice of preference)
  • 1/2 tsp of baking soda
  • Egg replacer, (1/2 Tbsp mixed with 2 Tbsp water)
  • 1 Tbsp oil (sunflower)
  • 1/4 c water
  • 1/2 c plain yoghurt
  • 16 cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 1/4 c goat’s milk feta cheese
  • Fresh basil leaves (one for each muffin)
* millet flour, brown rice flour, white rice flour and potato starch
 ingredients tbc
DIRECTIONS:
  1. Preheat oven to 190C/375F
  2. In a large bowl, place the flour, salt, baking powder, baking soda and spice.
  3. Mix with a spoon.

step2 add liquid

  1. Make a well in the centre, and pour in the yoghurt and oil.
  2. Mix to a crumbly texture.
  3. Gradually add the water (you may need more or less) until you have a smooth batter.

step5 addwater

  1. Mix the egg replacer with water and stir into the batter.
  2. Add the tomatoes and chopped or crumbled cheese and stir in.

step7 add cheese

  1. Spoon the batter into a greased muffin pan.
  2. Add one (or more) basil leaf to each muffin.

step8 muffinpan basil

  1. Bake at 190C/375F for 20-25 minutes, until brown.
  2. Remove from oven, and test with a toothpick to ensure muffins are cooked through.
  3. Cool on a wire rack.

tbc muffins

 My advice: Don’t eat one immediately after removing from the oven, because the tomatoes inside will burn your mouth.  Speaking from observation experience!  Wait at least five to ten minutes for them to cool down before you scoff them all up, or share with others.

Let me know if you try them, and how they turn out.
I hope that my new adventure into blogging will be rewarding, for both myself and my readers.  Stick around to see how my site develops.
2 thoughts on “New kid on the (gluten free) blog

Don't keep it to yourself. Comment!

